Nostalgia in the break

Can’t help myself!  I went to have a look at The Way we Wear at Mt Gravatt.  It had been a rough day for me – just struggling with myself and feelings of inadequacy and depression.  Still, got myself together, got lost on the way there but found the place at the Showgrounds.  A very pleasant spot with lawns and trees.   The $11.00 entrance fee was a little shock.  Seemed a lot to me to go into a shed where the stall holders had to make all sorts of ad hoc arrangements to display their wares.

Anyway in I went and looked around.  Took minutes for me to assess that I have the right sort of stuff for a fair like this.  That gave me heart.  Then I chatted to a friend who is a successful trader at this fair and she had done well on the Friday night but had found Saturday a bit slow.  Can’t imagine what Sunday will be like for them.  I moved on and had a good look at everything that was there.

I found an eclectic mix of mainly clothes, some linen, few books, bits of china etc, dressing table stuff and lots of jewellery.  I reckon jewellery is the go if one can get enough of the right stuff at the right price.  Small, easy to transport, have to lay out a bit to display really well but profitable because people buy it and it easy for them to ‘try on’.  I think my old music will do well at such a place with its lovely old pictorial covers, also the old magazines and selected vinyls.

Now I have to gather up enough self belief to commit to spending $300 on a stall for 2 days, commit the time – 3 days including set up time – and physical strength to do it.  The big put off is the cost of the stall and in a venue as unwelcoming as a big showground shed with concrete floors and corrugated iron walls.  This latter has become a big put off for me of all the antique fairs we do except for Nambour which is in an open roofed space – has more the atmosphere of a market in Europe.

The real issue is to get the place full of stalls and punters… the punters are staying away as far as I can see.  They had 17 stalls – could have had 30 and had had 600 people through the doors by Saturday afternoon.  If each person had spent $20 that is  about $700 per stall – the stall holders should have been smiling and they weren’t.  There was a lot of stuff that was really good and very evenly priced – so either it was not what the public wanted or they were not spending!

When I had reported all this to Al last night we sighed happily and told ourselves that we were wise to be taking a break.  It has settled some of my withdrawals I must say and we also comfort ourselves with the knowledge that we can sell that sort of stuff at other veunes that do not cost us $300 to stand.

About retrocentricaussie

We are a pair of ageing 'gypsies' who find junk and sell antiques, especially objects from the art nouveau/art deco years and old and well-loved tools. We also occasionally buy antiques as well!! We haunt clearance sales, garage sales, charity shops and sometimes dumps. Lately we have even been to a 'proper' auction. The thrill is in the chase for good stuff at prices we can afford and still sell the items on at a profit sufficient to support us. We recycle what other people don't want anymore, we find new homes for nice things. We sell at markets and antique fairs, swap meets and wherever else we can find. Our clientele are mostly ordinary people who want something they can afford that will enhance their quality of life. We are especially pleased when generation Y buy from us. It suggests that appreciation of quality and good design is still part of our modern aesthetic.
This entry was posted in Trading Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nostalgia in the break

  1. Rob Pazdro says:

    I vote for not spending the $300! It’s too stressful to have to make $300 just to get to zero– aside from all your work and effort! I keep reliving those flea/antique market days with you and, believe me, no one has more empathy for the two of you than me! Sending you my best!

  2. Just what we are thinking… financial future looking very dodgy here with a new Tory government – bloodsuckers they are! the idiots who vited them in in a landslide are gong to regret it big time.The only thing is I now have some very nice vintage fashion type stock!! Got to sell it somehow. Maybe internet!

  3. John Pilgrim says:

    We had a computer crash so have lost tyour email address. Please send……………. sounds as if you are a bit down these days……………………….. We are just emerging from winter which was pretty mild this year so no real complaints. ‘A spent a month in SA while I slaved away here as I did not feel like going this year. I think that I have lost my emotional attachment to SA. Good place to visit etc but I would rather lie on a beach in Mexico and be thoroughly spoilt which is exactly what we are going to do this weekend. It’s a couple of weeks of doing nothing or at least very little, except maybe consume too much of everything in sight/reach. We go to an area near Cancun on the Yucatan peninsula which is hot and humid which is just what we need after our very dry conditions……………. Does terrible things to my skin!! I had a slip and fall a couple of weeks ago and bust two ribs so am fairly limited while things heal up. No scuba diving this time!!

    The hockey genes have surfaced again with my sisters side of the family. One grand daughter has been named to the England U18 side and she’s just 16 and a grandsons team won the Cambridgeshire U10 championships. I didn’t know that they even competed at that level. We have a grand daughter aged 12 who is a pretty useful ice hockey player so I expect that’s the Canadian genes starting to emerge? Their games are pretty exciting at that level and of course we have to go and watch whenever time allows.

    I see from facebook that your girls all seem to be doing well. I am sure that you will enjoy your visit to see them which must be coming up fairly soon. Anyway that’s all for now –
    John & A

Leave a Reply

