Gympie Guns

Last weekend was a departure – I mentioned the Gympie gunshow… well along we went expecting lots of redneck behaviour and we were disappointed. The gunny stall holders were mostly very pleasant and boosted our sales considerably. We did 20% of our business while we were setting up the day before!

The departure for us was that we did some serious buying from punters who approached us. The best of these was the book about the Great Earthquake and Fire in San Franscisco 1906. The guy wanted a ‘book person’ to buy it. He wasn’t a ‘book person’ and he needed the money. Anyway he talked up the value of the book and of course I couldn’t buy it – out of my league! I agreed that it could sit on the table with a price on it and if we sold it he offered to split the proceeds. Sounded a good deal. Then off he went to sell the rest of his bits, German WW2 helmet etc… There was a bit of interest in the book but I didn’t give it another thought until he returned and re-opened the discussion. After some serious haggling and pleading on his behalf… he’d bought guns and couldn’t pay for them… I bought it for more than I wanted to pay. Then after he’d gone – I thought I should check it out on the internet site ABEbooks. Oh dear the internet on the phone can be frustrating. Doesn’t scroll nicely, anyway there were three books on the site – after much frustration, losing the site etc i opened two of them, they both were valued at way under what I had paid! I was furious, I can explete (sic) with the best and did. I was mad at the thought that I had been so comprehensively cheated. Anyway after more frustration with the phone I opened the third book… I had been looking at paperback versions in poor condition and this was a hard cover and valued at 5 times what I had paid!! Was I pleased that the seller had long since disappeared! And delighted that I have a valuable book in my collection… just got to find a buyer now! that, the Pierre D’Avesn bowl and the Moreau spelter figure are the nucleus of our developing high end collection.

This is fun and we did make some money so it was worth it in the end. Far from a living though and I am good and ready to stop working in an institution. My job is starting to be hard. Restructuring again in my workplace is no fun and I am sick of working with people who want to bully me into doing things their way. I want to make my own choices and do them my way as much as possible.

About retrocentricaussie

We are a pair of ageing 'gypsies' who find junk and sell antiques, especially objects from the art nouveau/art deco years and old and well-loved tools. We also occasionally buy antiques as well!! We haunt clearance sales, garage sales, charity shops and sometimes dumps. Lately we have even been to a 'proper' auction. The thrill is in the chase for good stuff at prices we can afford and still sell the items on at a profit sufficient to support us. We recycle what other people don't want anymore, we find new homes for nice things. We sell at markets and antique fairs, swap meets and wherever else we can find. Our clientele are mostly ordinary people who want something they can afford that will enhance their quality of life. We are especially pleased when generation Y buy from us. It suggests that appreciation of quality and good design is still part of our modern aesthetic.
This entry was posted in Trading Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gympie Guns

  1. Lenore says:

    Ceratinly the markets sound like a whole lot of fun and yes, definitely better than an institution! Lotsa love XXX Lenore

  2. Good to see a bit of an upturn in your luck! Nice to read the stories of Aussie derring-do!

  3. David says:

    I hope I have managed to subscribe

  4. Lois says:

    You go girl!
    Not sure if this is subscribing

Leave a Reply

