This is my life…

Well it was what I wanted it to be, just like ordinary folks and I got it this last weekend, the Queen’s Birthday weekend,the last long weekend in Australia until Christmas! It rained in most parts of the south east so we couldn’t market. We tried and headed North towards Hervey Bay, Poona to be precise, on Friday night to be ready to unapck and set up bright and early. Which we did but the rain washed us out and tired, wet and fed up we headed home at lunchtime. We had planned to visit our friends in Hervey Bay and then market on Sunday and make lots of money. Not to be.

And this is where the ordinary folks bit comes into it. I bought the Weekend Australian on Saturday at the servo and Alan brought it to me with coffee early on Sunday morning. What a wonderful feeling to be in bed, loved and cherished and also intellectually fed. Well as if that was not enough I was able to go to church as well. What a treat and it was the feast of Pentecost, so lots of red vestments and flowers and wonderful music. It was on the 12th June, the Feast of Pentecost that the first communion service was held in St Pauls church building 152 years ago. It hasn’t happened on this date since then either and won’t for another 152 years.

So home to breakfast and Alan and a feast of recorded Super Rugby games. What a treat, cuddled up in our lovely mohair snuggle rugs sipping on warm red beverage – a lovely day. But more was to come, on Monday I stayed in bed and read the whole rest of the paper. I haven’t read a whole paper this whole year! What a terrific treat. And then irony of ironies the sun shone the whole day so we happily cleaned polished and priced in preparation for next week’s endeavours at the Gympie Gun, Militaria and Collectables Fair. This one has been talked up big to us so we are hoping for good sales.

So you see we are puddling on but have been doing it hard as the politicians say – very hard. My sense of our situation is that we are a knife edge from financial ruin and only Alan’s determined efforts and mine in support are keeping us afloat. We are one couple among many who are doing it tough! There it is again that Aussie vernacular… but so expressive. the economy of the area has died, houses in post codes affected by the floods are not getting mortgages from the banks so of course we can’t sell our investment property and it would be ruining us were it not for help we are getting from my family. We can’t benefit from flood relief because we didn’t actually go ‘under’ (the water) so we have to do whatever else we can to survive. Hard luck at 65, for me anyway. Agh ja – I have had it worse. And Alan and I still like and love each other which is just as well because we don’t really see anybody else to talk to much.

So the drought is broken and I have written another blog. Hope you enjoy reading it.

About retrocentricaussie

We are a pair of ageing 'gypsies' who find junk and sell antiques, especially objects from the art nouveau/art deco years and old and well-loved tools. We also occasionally buy antiques as well!! We haunt clearance sales, garage sales, charity shops and sometimes dumps. Lately we have even been to a 'proper' auction. The thrill is in the chase for good stuff at prices we can afford and still sell the items on at a profit sufficient to support us. We recycle what other people don't want anymore, we find new homes for nice things. We sell at markets and antique fairs, swap meets and wherever else we can find. Our clientele are mostly ordinary people who want something they can afford that will enhance their quality of life. We are especially pleased when generation Y buy from us. It suggests that appreciation of quality and good design is still part of our modern aesthetic.
This entry was posted in The Sinnies At Home and Abroad. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to This is my life…

  1. helen george says:

    good to hear from you. fascinating stuff. lots of love.

  2. Henk Huijser says:

    Great to hear u 2 are good! Keep it that way, and you’ll get through this.

  3. kate burnside says:

    Sounds wonderful . . . really. It’s that you’re having fun that matters. It IS good to hear from you as I knew you’ve been very busy. Love and take care, Kate

  4. Thomas Harris says:

    Blessings my dear cousin. I sense your gritty warrior energy underpinning the words. I will eschew the trite wisdom that comes to mind. Now there’s an interesting thing, I struggle to remember important everyday words but obscure English comes to me in a flash! I wonder how many people who think you will “loose” things when they go missing know what they are eschewing? Yes I am clearly going gaga! But a beautiful thing is I’m quite secure in my gaganes. Kind of sets me apart! I’m not sure that Jung noticed this pattern of behaviour is a significant part of individuation.
    uh-oh this spell of creative brilliance is deserting me so I had better signoff before the little men in white coats come to collect me. Lots and lots and lots of love

  5. Abdul Sammad says:

    God speed and may your road thru life be paved with ease and blessings, Insha Allah πŸ™‚

    Hugs and kisses

    Varushka; Sam and the gals

  6. Moira says:

    Enjoyed hearing your news. Hope sales are going well. Sorry about the flood damage.

    Love Moira and Andre

  7. Nice to hear from you both. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

